The Whish List

Book Reviews: "Be awesome! Be a book nut!" – Dr Seuss

Month: January 2017

What Alice Knew by T.A. Cotterell. Reviewed for Lovereading

This is a psychological thriller about Alice an artist living a successful, happy life with her obstetrician husband and two children in Bristol. Her husband goes out one night and becomes involved in something that threatens all they hold dear. As Alice tries to get to the truth, her assumptions about her life and marriage are shaken to the core.
I loved the setting and certainly found myself putting myself in Alice’s shoes and wondering how I would react in her circumstances.
This is definitely one for fans of ‘Gone Girl’ and ‘The Girl on the Train’

 

What would you do if you knew what Alice knew? A clever, psychological thriller about a night out that has far reaching implications for a marriage and family.

The Watcher by Ross Armstrong reviewed for Lovereading

https://www.lovereading.co.uk/book/16723/The-Watcher-by-Ross-Armstrong.html

 

I enjoyed the themes and premise of this novel but found it took a while to really come to fruition. Lily is the archetypal unreliable narrator and this is cleverly realised.
The setting was great and reminded me of John Lancaster’s Capital in tone and social commentary but I did find the story a bit confusing and disjointed.
This debut can certainly join the ranks of recent successful psychological thrillers but a little more pace and menace wouldn’t have gone amiss.

 

An interesting and unsettling debut novel for fans of the masters of suspense; Du Maurier and Hitchcock.

[Top]