The Whish List

Book Reviews: "Be awesome! Be a book nut!" – Dr Seuss

The Loving Husband by Christobel Kent reviewed for lovereading

https://www.lovereading.co.uk/book/9780751562385/The-Loving-Husband-by-Christobel-Kent.html

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will love this psychological thriller that has plenty of twists and turns to keep you hooked.

It’s the story of Fran and Nathan who move to the country with their two young children and something happens one night that turns Fran’s world on its head.

Christobel Kent is adept at cranking up the tension as we wonder with Fran, what the hell has happened and who can she trust now? It’s difficult to say too much about the plot without giving too many secrets away but just when you think you’ve worked it all out, along comes another twist that you didn’t see coming.

I think the sense of place helps to build a brooding atmosphere of tension and unease at the heart of the book and the descriptions of the bleak Fenland landscape add another dimension to the pace of the book and the main character’s quiet unravelling.

There were a few moments where I had to suspend belief at some of the things that happened to Fran and wondered if certain things really rang true but the author is clever enough to keep us rooting for the ‘heroine in peril’ and believing in her search for the truth.

 

This book is a psychological thriller that doesn’t let up and will make you question everything and everyone until it’s dramatic and startling conclusion.

Comments are closed.